Attitude, Attitude

For this week’s SIA, inspired by Gustav Klimt’s portrait of Mada Primavesi, I knew immediately I’d wear this dress, as its bluish, grayish color is perfect to mimic the dress of the little girl in the painting. The accessorizing, however, took some thinking. The shoes were easy enough – these vintage cut-out heels can reflect some of the colors and intricacy of the background – but I wanted something to mimic the floral motif as well. In the end, I decided to accessorize with this cotton handkerchief. It’s one of my recent thrifted finds; I can tie it, Karate Kid-style, as I bike to work to prevent sweat from falling into my eyes or use it as a make-shift mask, and the print is pretty enough to add a touch of interest to the outfit.

Don’t forget to check Daenel’s blog on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this painting!


3 Comments on “Attitude, Attitude”

  1. Hello, i really like the whole design and color blocking of your dress. The muted blue shades pick up the feel of the painting. And adding the hankie to get the flower field-very clever! And I love the linen like texture of your dress. Take care, Terri

  2. This is such a cute dress, Salazar. I really like Klimt and am surprised we haven’t had any of his artwork since I’ve been hosting (that I remember).


Leave a comment