Edwardian Shirt

If you’ve read the blog for a while, then you know that Edwardian is one of my favorite style eras. It is my dream to own an Edwardian-inspired lawn dress (something like this), or a shirt or a blouse in a similar style. But now that I’ve found the perfect Edwardian shirt (the ruffles! The collar! The broderie anglaise!), I’ve discovered that I have absolutely no idea what to pair it with. A skirt is out of the question, because it would look like I’m cosplaying as a Gibson Girl. Normal trousers would look too stuffy. In the end, I decided to balance the shirt with a casual pair of jeans, but I forgot that my jeans are low-rise so they don’t look very well with a tucked-in shirt. The only thing I like in this outfit is the brooch, which is clearly born to go with this shirt.

Do you have any idea how to style this shirt? I need help!


4 Comments on “Edwardian Shirt”

  1. Sheila (of Ephemera) says:

    I would do a knee-length full skirt (with a pattern? floral?) with it, and an espadrille-style shoe. A skinny cigarette pant would also look great, then a cropped denim jacket over the blouse. You could also go the mod route with an a-line mini and a chunky shoe – it will contrast with the delicate detail and look very fresh and modern. Lots of great things you could try!

    • Salazar says:

      Skinny pants would be my next try! A patterned full skirt could work too (very seventies) and avoid that Gibson Girl cosplay I was afraid of. Great suggestions, thanks, Sheila!

  2. tanya2austin says:

    So this is really random, but I love Edwardian dresses too (my favorite era– I swoon over the embroidery) and if you’re really looking for an Edwardian lawn dress, I saw this one on Etsy. Too small for me, otherwise I’d snap it up in a heartbeat! https://www.etsy.com/listing/589306250/1910s-edwardian-perfect-pure-white-tea
    (also I have my own that I did manage to alter to my size: https://itsallfrosting.wordpress.com/2016/08/22/altering-an-edwardian-dress/)

    • Salazar says:

      Your altered dress is gorgeous! Alas, I would have nowhere to wear such a dress, so it would be wasted. I think it’s more of a case of me just liking the look of something, rather than wanting to wear it.


Leave a comment