Old Hag

The other day I found three gray hairs on my head. I’ve had the odd gray hair since my 20s, but those were just half-gray (what we call “tóc sâu”, literally “bug-eaten hair”, in Vietnamese). This is the first time I found full-length, completely silver hairs from root to tip. I’m not worried, though. I inherit my dad and my grandmother’s hair, meaning I’m not going to go fully gray until my 70s. Besides, I don’t mind gray hair. If anything, I’m actually looking forward to having gray hair and being properly old. As long as I can keep reasonably healthy (*knocks on wood*, but with my terrible genes, who knows), I plan to fully embrace being a crazy, “get off my lawn” type of old lady. I mean, there’s a reason I took my style inspiration from Miss Marple. Take this outfit, for example. It wouldn’t look out of place on the old nemesis herself.


3 Comments on “Old Hag”

  1. Mike says:

    I’ve had gray hair since my childhood it and was always a source of ridicule by my peers. I hated it back then, but now, I’m embracing it.
    Ha, I hear you there! I’m already embracing my “curmudgeoness” the older I get. I always picture myself being like old Bruce Wayne from the “Batman Beyond” series about 50 years from now. I’ll be well into my 80s by then. And like you, if I keep healthy (healthy eating and exercise plays a big role), I plan to enjoy my old age in retirement. We’ll still be in contact, hopefully. We can talk about having this conversation. 😉
    And who knows? By that time, we may not even need phones, tablets and computers to do this as technology will be crazy advanced in 2071.

  2. This outfit is so retro perfect and I love it. Yes, grey hair is part of life.

  3. […] a recognizable costume that I can put together with things from my closet. Sure, I can dress up as Miss Marple all I want, but how many people are going to recognize it?) I still want to give a nod to Halloween […]


Leave a comment