Velvet And Silk

For this week’s SIA, inspired by a pair of 19th-century silk boudoir slippers, I knew I wouldn’t be able to capture the colors exactly, since I have nothing close to that rich purple in my closet. So instead, I decided to take inspiration from the contrast between the textures of the slippers – the silk and the velvet. I then ran the photo of the slippers through my photo editor to change their hues into a color scheme I could work with, and finally came up with this blue-green combo.

So that’s how this outfit came about – the silk blouse is a hand-me-down from my mom, the velvet skirt is a recent thrift find, and of course, I had to add a brooch to mimic the sparkly buckles of the slippers. For the touch of blue, I thought about wearing my lace-up flats, but they made the outfit too fussy, so I went with these oxfords instead. All in all, I’m really happy with the outfit, even if I had to bend and reach a bit to translate it from the inspiration. But isn’t that the fun of SIA though? Don’t forget to check out Daenel’s blog on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by these slippers!


4 Comments on “Velvet And Silk”

  1. I love your creative twist. Those slippers look divine in green and blue.

  2. How ingenious to go with the texture! Silk and velvet are spot one for this SIA. I didn’t even think about that take on it. Very Excellent and silk and velvet have to be one of my favorite textures to wear together-any color that they are in is so rich and deep and beautiful.

  3. What an excellent way of dealing with the color complication. I love your silk and velvet outfit. The brooch is an absolutely perfect touch!

  4. […] pick of these 19th-century slippers forced me to stretch my creativity a bit, which was why it was one of my favorite […]


Leave a comment