Cleopatra

This week’s SIA, inspired by the poster for the 1917, Theda Bara-starring film “Cleopatra”, is a difficult one for me. It has mostly autumnal colors – rust, orange, gold, etc. – and the weather where I am is not cool enough for those yet. There are a lot of patterns too. After some thinking, I decided to go with this printed top – the busiest thing I have in my closet, and these jeans and heels to mimic some of the colors in the poster. The result may not be as close to the inspiration piece as I’d like, but it’s a perfectly functional outfit, and I’d take that over some forced attempt to mimic the inspiration exactly.

Don’t forget to check out Jen’s blog on Wednesday for the full round-up of other oufits inspired by this kickass poster!


5 Comments on “Cleopatra”

  1. Mike says:

    I think that you did great, Salazar! We both had the same thing in mind in terms of color as I also went with the burgundy/blue combo. Check out my post when you get a chance!

    Doing mine was difficult as well. It was over 80 degrees with humidity when I took my photos, which is considered “hot” by Ohio standards. 😉

  2. Kezzie says:

    I think your outfit works incredibly well! You missed a trick with not wearing one of your lovely brooches though!

    • Salazar says:

      I thought about wearing some sort of jewelry, but I have none with an “Egyptian” feel; besides, the blouse is busy enough that I didn’t want to compete with it. Sometimes less is more.

  3. I think you did a great job with your outfit. I really like your top. And I definitely need a pair of pants in that color.


Leave a comment