All The Patterns

striped tee polka dot pants leopard printed flats by 14 shades of grey

I had a different outfit in mind for this week’s SIA, inspired by Charles Demuth’s “Spring“, but at the last moment I decided against it, because while it may copy some of the colors of the painting, it doesn’t capture the many patterns of the fabric samples. So I chose to a more casual outfit with all of the patterns instead – there are three patterns here (stripes, polka dots, and leopard print) – four if you count the floral print on my owl pin – and I keep the colors minimal to avoid being a walking fabric store. I’m happy with this – it captures the spirit of the painting, if not the exact colors and patterns.

Don’t forget to stop by Erin’s blog by Wednesday (a day late, since she has a pre-scheduled post on Tuesday) to see other interpretations of this painting!

striped tee polka dot pants leopard printed flats by 14 shades of greystriped tee polka dot pants by 14 shades of grey

striped tee owl brooch by 14 shades of greypolka dot pants leopard printed flats by 14 shades of grey

Tee: Forever21, Pants: Old Navy, Flats: LA Fashion District, Pin: vintage

4 Comments on “All The Patterns”

  1. Mike says:

    I think that you did a fine job in interpreting this SIA painting, Salazar. I thought of trying to interpret more than one pattern as well for mine, but decided at the last minute to just stick with just the one. You’ll see it… Wednesday, I see, as you mentioned about Erin’s round up post being a day late?

    Anyway, I also realized that I don’t have that many different kinds of patterns in my closet (most of my shirts are pretty plain), so I decided to just pick the one.

    Also, love the black and white theme that you have going on here in your outfit. And of course, your owl pin adds a nice touch to complete the whole look. 🙂

  2. Super cute! And yes, great minds think alike… our outfits together would make an awesome mash-up! 🙂


Leave a Reply

