Surviving May

Put this meme under “Things Only A Teacher Would Understand”:

I can totally relate to that. I’ve been a TA/teacher for three years now, and every year, as the end of May rolls around, I begin counting down the days until vacation starts. For the students the semester actually ended last Friday, but of course for us there is still plenty of work left. I had to sit on the thesis committee yesterday, and a stack of scripts still wait on my desk to be read and graded. Hopefully I can get everything done by the end of the week.

polka dot chambray shirt white jeans nude sandals by 14 shades of grey

This will be one of the few breaks when I don’t have anything to catch up on – I’ve finished my latest translation, and my weekend film making workshop will also be done by the end of June. On the other hand, I have a pretty exciting trip planned for the summer (I will tell you guys about it in due course), so there is that to look forward to.

In the meantime, I’m staying comfy in these casual clothes.

P/S: I waited until after Memorial Day to wear white. Am I a good style blogger or what?

polka dot chambray shirt white jeans nude sandals by 14 shades of greypolka dot chambray shirt white jeans by 14 shades of grey

polka dot chambray shirt necklace by 14 shades of greywhite jeans nude sandals by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Gap, Jeans & Necklace: local shops, Flats: Aldo

5 Comments on “Surviving May”

  1. Mike says:

    Awesome that you made it through another semester, Salazar. You’ve worked hard to get to this point and now all that’s left to look forward to is the summer ahead. I’m happy for you.

    And I’m looking forward to hearing more about your trip. If it’s anything like what you did last year, it should be pretty exciting to read about.

    And at the risk of sounding really stupid here, I have to ask: Why do people wait until after Memorial day to wear white?

    • Salazar says:

      Uh, you’re asking the wrong person here. I have no idea either. I’m guessing the whole “no white before Memorial Day and after Labor Day” rule has something to do with the summer? Like, you’re supposed to wear white only during the summer, and not before or after? (Yup, a quick trip to Google confirms this.)

      • Mike says:

        I did actually. And I saw a variety of answers for it, though I’m not sure if there’s any solid reason for this. From what I saw, this fashion frenzy came about around the late 1800s, though some say it was closer to the 1930s; who knows. Anyway, one of the main reasons for this “white after Memorial Day” or “no white after Labor Day”, is that white clothing gave people a look of leisure (usually the upper class), while black and other dark colors were associated with working stiffs.

        Another possible reason for this was back in the day, people would often flee from their homes during the summer, only taking their “summer clothes” with them to whatever vacation spot that they were headed to, and when they returned at the end of summer, they would put their summer clothes away and donned their more “formal” and work appropriate clothes for the coming autumn.

        Those are two of the reasons that I found out. And while I don’t think there’s a solid explanation as to why this is, when you think about it from a scientific perspective, I guess it makes sense too. White usually reflects heat and light, while black absorbs both of these elements, which makes a person feel warmer if they’re wearing black. So I can see the reason for wearing mostly white in the summer months, if for no other reason other than to keep cool. So you’re right about the summer part.

        Ultimately, I still don’t quite understand the reason for this. I remember my grandma used to follow these “rules” to a T back in the day but I never understood why. But after looking it up and talking about it, hopefully this will shed some light as to why this is. Hope this helps.

  2. And some us are stupid enough to work summer school-all nine weeks,

  3. For some of us the summer is our busiest time of the year – hello Summer Reading Club! We’re filled to bursting with all the kids who aren’t in school, and envying teachers with their extended vacations…. 🙂


Leave a Reply

