Weekly Capsule 18.1 & SIA: The Scream

navy shirt burgundy jeans black pumps by 14 shades of grey

I was in a bind for this week’s SIA. You see, the inspiration, Edvard Munch’s classic masterpiece, “The Scream”, features quite a lot of orange and yellow, but I have no orange or yellow pieces in my closet that would work for warm temperatures. My mustard jeans might, but I’ve already worn it with this shirt. In the end, I decided on these burgundy pair and added a touch of yellow/brown with my necklace. It’s not exact, but I think the outfit captures the dark atmosphere of the painting. But then I realized that I totally forgot to do the pose! Ah well. I’m sure at least one of the lovely SIA participants would do it. Just remember to check Jess’ blog to find out.

navy shirt burgundy jeans black pumps by 14 shades of greynavy shirt burgundy jeans black pumps by 14 shades of grey

navy shirt necklace by 14 shades of greyburgundy jeans black pumps by 14 shades of grey

navy shirt burgundy jeans black pumps by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Mango, Jeans: Pull&Bear, Necklace & Shoes: local shops


2 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 18.1 & SIA: The Scream”

  1. Mike says:

    I think that your outfit is a perfect expression of the painting Salazar. While it does have a more “warmer” feel with all the orange, your necklace covers that part of the painting. And your shirt clearly matches that navy, midnight blue that’s found in it. And your shoes match the black that found on the screaming figure. So no frets. You did great! And don’t forget that Edvard Munch did 3 other versions of this work as well, all with different media. I think the one he did in tempera on cardboard back in 1910 has a bit more red (like reddish brown) in it so that would be a nice match for your burgundy pants.

  2. This outfit is so chic! I love the dark, sleek colors.


Leave a comment