Weekly Capsule 17.4: Age of Ultron

navy ikat shirt navy linen boyfriend jeans black pumps by 14 shades of grey

So last Sunday I saw The Avengers: Age of Ultron (it came out a week earlier in Vietnam). I enjoyed it, but the story definitely isn’t as tight as the first one, and it doesn’t leave as much resonance with me as the first one either. I think one of the problems is that there are all these new characters – I understand why they were added, but I couldn’t care less about Quicksilver or Scarlet Witch or Vision. Or even Ultron, for that matter. Loki makes a much more interesting antagonist, I think.

But that’s to be expected. Out of all the Marvel sequels so far, I think only Captain America: The Winter Soldier has been as good, if not better than the first one, because it’s so different. But, if I know my trilogies well, they tend to bounce back with the last one, so I’m looking forward to Phase 3.

navy ikat shirt navy linen blazer boyfriend jeans by 14 shades of greynavy ikat shirt navy linen blazer boyfriend jeans by 14 shades of grey

navy ikat shirt navy linen blazer cat brooch by 14 shades of greynavy ikat shirt navy linen blazer boyfriend jeans black pumps by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: C-Wonder, Blazer: Atmosphere, Jeans: Charlotte Russe, Shoes & Brooch: local shops

My looks this week – blue, blue, and more blue:

white v-neck button up black skirt yellow heeled oxfords by 14 shades of greynavy ikat shirt black skirt yellow heeled oxfords by 14 shades of grey

mustard plaid dress blue blazer brown heeled loafers by 14 shades of greynavy ikat shirt navy linen blazer boyfriend jeans black pumps by 14 shades of grey

5 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 17.4: Age of Ultron”

  1. Mike says:

    Cool, so you’ve already seen the movie? I’m planning on seeing it tonight when I get off work, if I can still get a ticket. I need to work on learning about the Marvel characters so I can better understand what’s happening. I think the problem with the first one was that there were a lot of characters that I didn’t know so it was hard to follow. Perhaps this one will make more sense? We’ll see. I’m just excited that I’m going to a theater. The experience alone can be awesome.

    • Salazar says:

      Eh… I think you should watch at least the Phase 1 movies (Iron Man, Captain America: The First Avenger, and Thor) to enjoy The Avengers. It’s not that you can’t follow the story; it’s just that you’ll get to know the characters better. And that’s the problem with the sequel – they introduce a bunch of new characters that haven’t been set up in previous movies, so they don’t work as well.

      • Mike says:

        I think you’re probably right about that. With so many characters that are in the movie (my experience from the first one), it probably won’t make much sense since I’m not too familiar with them. It’s for the better anyway, because I’m way too tired to go see it now.
        I’d probably end up falling asleep halfway through it. I think my closing eyelids on my bus ride home today told me this.

        Now that I think about it though, I do remember seeing Thor a while back. That was pretty cool and I remember liking it because I got to know what he was about. I may have to watch that one again.
        So I assume that there’s a movie out on every Avenger then? Maybe next I’ll check out Capt. America. I see these movies all the time where I work so maybe I’ll grab a few tomorrow and check them out. Thanks.

      • Mike says:

        Hey Salazar, I just went to see The Avengers, Age Of Ultron. I decided to go see it while it was still playing in our theaters, since I haven’t been to one in a while. I had a really crappy week (that which I won’t bore everyone with the banal details of such) and I wanted to do something different with my Friday evening. It was a great experience. The theater is old but well kept and where I was sitting was perfect for viewing the superheroes on the silver screen.
        It was a pretty good movie I must say. I see your point that you made earlier in how the Avengers want to help keep people safe, but at the same time, fight the villains. This was evident towards the end when they were evacuating people of the city so that they could fight Ultron without endangering the townsfolk. He was kind of a “cheesy” villain in that even though he’s evil, he was sort of funny at the same time. He wasn’t completely dark.
        You were right in that they added some new faces that I’ve never seen before. It was a little difficult to keep track of the action at times (the montage of fast action shots is something that both DC and Marvel do quite abundantly), but I could get the gist of what was going on. I’ve seen Thor, Hulk and Captain America (the 2nd one I think), so I’m beginning to piece together who’s who and can greater appreciate the Avengers. They are sort like a Marvel version of DC’s Justice League, which I really like. They have their own unique personalities, quirks and motifs, like their DC counterparts. So as I reach the apex of my peroration, I have to say that overall, they’re pretty cool. 🙂

  2. Ahhhh. I’m going to see it tomorrow, and I’m excited and terrified – I know it’s going to be so stressful. Also, so disappointed about the scene they filmed with Loki being cut out. *sigh*


Leave a Reply

