Fancy

navy dress arrow pin red heels by 14 shades of grey

I wore this to a Bastille Day celebration at the French Embassy. My dad works with a French university, so he got invited, and he took my mom and me along. Is it lame to hang out with your parents like that? I don’t know, and even if it is, I wasn’t going to turn down free food (free French food) because of it.

This dress is a hand-me-down from my sister, and it’s actually dark navy, so I kept with the “red-white-blue” theme by adding my silver pin and ruby heels – they’re pretty much my “special occasion” shoes now. I don’t go out on special occasions too often, but every time something like this comes up, I always remind myself that I need a black dress and dressier shoes. Of course, I would always manage to put together something sufficiently appropriate from what I already have, and tell myself that there is no need to buy a black dress and shoes that I only wear once in a blue moon. What do you guys think? Is it worth the investment?

navy dress arrow pin by 14 shades of greynavy dress arrow pin red heels by 14 shades of grey

navy dress red heels by 14 shades of greynavy dress arrow pin by 14 shades of grey

Dress: H&M (hand-me-down), Shoes: Steve Madden (thrifted), Pin: Etsy


4 Comments on “Fancy”

  1. mariep says:

    such a pretty skirt for a twirl~

  2. Jess says:

    Love your dress, retro style looks great on you, and I love the red shoes!!
    from the link up, jess
    please stop by

    Home

  3. No, totally not lame to hang with your parents. Especially when there’s free food involved, and you wear something this gorgeous.

  4. Meghan says:

    That dress is beautiful! The pin is just extra special.


Leave a comment