Twee As F**k

chambray dress green cardigan black boots by 14 shades of grey

When I first tried this outfit on, I wore the collar the right way (as a Peter Pan collar) with a brooch, and I had different shoes on. I looked like I just stepped out of a 1950’s children book’s illustration. Not a good look. I admit that I do like the twee style now and then, but I’m not comfortable wearing it – way too bubbly for my personality. So off went the brooch, the shoes got switched to boots and a belt was added. The result may look a little off-balanced, but at least I don’t feel like an overgrown 5-year-old (says the girl who still watches SpongeBob Squarepants.)

chambray dress green cardigan black boots by 14 shades of greychambray dress green cardigan black boots by 14 shades of grey

chambray dress black boots by 14 shades of greychambray dress green cardigan black boots by 14 shades of grey

chambray dress green cardigan crochet collar by 14 shades of grey

Dress: Modcloth, Collar: vintage, Tights: Forever21,
Belt & Cardigan: thrifted,  Boots: Vietnamese shop

take one pass it on 03


4 Comments on “Twee As F**k”

  1. Oh my gosh, the title made me laugh out loud! Haha! I love the boots and belt to toughen up this outfit a little; I’ve been really into pairing my new black booties with lighter, airier outfits so they don’t look quite so sweet. It’s a great look! And that collar is fantastic!
    I think I might try this challenge, too. It looks like fun!

  2. Val Sparkle says:

    Definitely better in the second outfit! I think the belt and the darker cardi make the most difference – they even balance out the rather prim collar. Very pretty!

  3. Jessi says:

    Ha I LOVE the title! You are too funny 🙂 Love the outfit though, you look absolutely darling! That collar is seriously perfection. Love your shoes in the first outfit but you’re right, the second outfit is better. The boots and belt add a little roughness to balance it out.
    Visiting from Casual Friday!
    -Jessi
    http://haircutandgeneralattitude.blogspot.com

  4. DeDivahDeals says:

    How adorable are you and yes, storybook cute!! Blog Hopping from Two Thirty Five – have a fantastical weekend and don’t forget to “Spring Ahead” an hour on Saturday night!


Leave a comment