Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

yellow drop-waist dress grey cardigan wing-tip oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Let’s start the week with a book review, shall we?

I first found out about “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children” by the awesomely-named Ransom Riggs all the way back when I still interned for his management company, but I never got around to reading it (too busy reading scripts, probably). I was really interested in it though, especially when I found out it was inspired by a collection of vintage photos that the author put together himself. The story centers around 16-year-old Jacob Portman, who, after witnessing the murder of his grandfather by some horrific monster, tracks down the clues in his grandfather’s last words to a Welsh orphanage. Here he meets children with extraordinary talents and their headmistress Miss Peregrine, learns of the truth behind his grandfather’s tall tales and the monsters who are coming for them all.

yellow drop-waist dress grey cardigan by 14 shades of greyyellow drop-waist dress cameo necklace by 14 shades of grey

Comparisons to Harry Potter come up a lot, but I actually think it’s closer to X-Men. What I love about the book is the interweaving of the fictional narrative and the photos which serve as illustrations of sort to the story. These photos, bizarre and some downright nightmarish (in a creepy Victorian daguerreotype way) really sets the book apart from other similar YA fantasies.

yellow drop-waist dress wing-tip oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Now on to the parts that I’m not a fan of: the pacing in the beginning and the end is OK, but the middle part is really, really, really slow. Most of it is devoted to the mythology behind the peculiar children and the monsters who are hunting them, but I find it way too convoluted. Given that a sequel is in the works, I think some of that could have been saved for later books. Also, I don’t find any of the characters (including the main character) that memorable. I don’t have trouble keeping track of them or anything, but after reading the book none of them sticks with me.

yellow drop-waist dress grey cardigan wing-tip oxfords by 14 shades of greyyellow drop-waist dress grey cardigan by 14 shades of grey

yellow drop-waist dress by 14 shades of grey

Still, it’s a fun book, a relatively quick read, and I’ll be sure to check out the sequel.

yellow drop-waist dress grey cardigan wing-tip oxfords by 14 shades of grey

The outfit is more of a costume, but I have yet to figure out how to style this dress without making it look costume-y or too twee. Maybe with boots?

Dress: vintage, Cardigan & Necklace: Forever21, Oxfords & Tights: Buffalo Exchange

take one pass it on 05


7 Comments on “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children”

  1. That book has been on my reading list for a while. I just finished “When She Woke” by Hillary Jordan, so maybe I’ll pick that one up when I go back to the library. Your review made it sound even more exciting than it already was.

    http://thismummasstyle.wordpress.com/

  2. Meredith says:

    Hmm…I have been searching for a new book to read- I will have to give that one a whirl šŸ™‚ I love the outfit- especially the white tights and the cameo necklace

  3. teddi says:

    Salazar, i don’t think it looks costume like at all. i am fond of your look. it does capture the mood of the book cover. well done! šŸ™‚

  4. juli says:

    The outfit is fabulous and there’s nothing costumey about it. To pep up, why not try a belt over the open cardigan.

  5. liz says:

    sounds like an interesting read, and …maybe just breeze through the middle? i wore a dress just about that same color today! with lavender leggings and a blueish cardigan, but talk about looking twee – when i left work it was raining so i had my galoshes and polka dot rain coat on..

    love the yellow/grey/white combo and really, whats wrong with being a little youthful? better than boring no?

  6. […] Two, yes, this is my drop-waist dress. I’m actually considering taking off the skirt part to turn this into a shirt, because that […]

  7. […] any of the peculiars. So, here we are. I have actually been wanting to read this book ever since Salazar reviewed it, and I was not disappointed! The cover really appealed to me (I’m a visual person!), and […]


Leave a comment