Pinafore Dress

I’ve wanted a pinafore dress for a while (more exactly, after seeing this dress in “The Queen’s Gambit”), but alas, I haven’t had much luck. This is the closest I can find in my usual secondhand/vintage shops, but it’s still not what I really want – it’s too short and the skirt is not wide enough. It makes me look like a schoolgirl. To be fair, all pinafore dresses look a little girlish no matter how you style them, but this one is even more so, because it looks like a school uniform. I leaned into that when styling this dress, with my white button-up and loafers, but next winter, I might try a more 1960s Mod look (I’ve taken inspiration from all eras of the 20th century, but oddly enough, the 60s is one I’ve never tried) to see if I can make it look more age-appropriate. In the meantime, my search for a pinafore dress continues…



Leave a comment