Embroidered Girl

Here’s my outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by Albert Marquet’s “Girl Embroidering, Seated in a Garden“. I knew I’d wear this cardigan and brooch for the green color and the embroidery part, but there is a bit of pink in the painting that I struggled with – I don’t have a lot of pink in my closet, and those pink pieces that I do have don’t really go with the outfit I had in mind. Then I remembered this scarf, and instead of wearing as a normal scarf (which wouldn’t work with this cardigan anyway), I decided to try something new and wear it as a headscarf instead. The cardigan and the headscarf kind of remind me of those WWII outfits that women often wore to work in factories and farms (like these), so I finished off the outfit with my wide-leg pants and oxfords to complete a 1940s looks. A bit different than my usual, but I like it.

Don’t forget to check out Daenel’s blog on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this painting!


4 Comments on “Embroidered Girl”

  1. I LOVE LOVE this look on you-it is such a great vintage 40’s take on things.

  2. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    Oh Salazar, I love every element of this outfit! Your cardigan is beautiful. That is one of my favorite shades of green. And I love the wide legged trousers with oxfords combination. The headscarf was a brilliant little addition for such a cool vintage look. And I love how the colors came together so perfectly.

    Shelbee

  3. […] of submissions. You can also read the details of Daenel’s own inspired outfit here, Salazar’s here, and Terri’s here. Have you joined the Style Imitating Art challenges yet? Be sure to check […]

  4. […] this one, which gives me a chance to try out a proper 1940s […]


Leave a comment