Sheep By The Sea

It’s SIA time! The inspiration this week is Rosa Bonheur’s “Sheep by the Sea”, and by a stroke of luck, we just had a cold snap this week, so here I am, in sweater and wool culottes and boots – unimaginable, considering this time last year I was still wearing a single layer. The cold snap is not going to last long, but even then, the weather is not warming up too much. It looks like we’re going to get some proper fall weather this year, hurray!

Anyway, back to the outfit. I knew I’d wear this sweater, which perfectly captures the color and texture of the sheep’s woolly coats, but the rest of it took some thinking. Eventually, I remembered this pair of culottes, since they have the brown and green of the background in the painting. Plus the tag says Glen Prince (from what I can gather it’s a British wool company), which is very apt, considering the painting is supposedly of the Scottish Highlands. Finally, I added a little neckerchief to mimic the blue sky, and these boots to finish the outfit. I was trying to pull off the whole “Queen Elizabeth II at Balmoral” look, not sure if I succeed, but I like it.

Don’t forget to drop by Terri’s blog on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this lovely painting!


4 Comments on “Sheep By The Sea”

  1. I’m totally getting The Queen here, Salazar! I love that you used her as part of the inspiration. Genius, considering one of her favourite places to spend time just happens to be Scotland.
    Suzy xx

  2. Susan says:

    Great look so understated and stylish, love your boots too.

  3. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    Salazar, I love this look and it is definitely giving me royal vibes! I love the Highland feel of the painting and of your outfit! I also incorporated some plaid and a knit tam to capture that Highland mood.

    Shelbee


Leave a comment