A Parliament Of Owls

This week’s SIA outfit, inspired by one of the “soundsuits” by artist and sculptor Nick Cave, took me some thinking. The crocheted granny squares on the suit could be a jumping-off point, but I have nothing similar in my closet. In the end, I just pulled out the most colorful and outrageous piece I have – this top – and relied on the accessories to bring in some of the colors and textures of the inspiration piece.

I noticed that there are a lot of figurines of birds, especially owls, on the suit, so I brought out all the owl brooches I own. I have a couple more “bird” brooches, but I wanted to maintain some sense of cohesion in the outfit, so I’m sticking with owls. And for that same reason, I kept the rest of the outfit simple. I guess I could try some pattern-mixing or something more “wild”, but I think it’s more important to keep the outfit wearable than to make it as close to the inspiration as possible.


5 Comments on “A Parliament Of Owls”

  1. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    Salazar, this outfit is so cute! I love this plaid top and the oversized collar is darling. Your owl pins were the perfect addition for the artwork! Such a fun and interesting look!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  2. Your Parliament of Owls works so well and as you said, this is a very wearable ensemble. I’ve seen that blouse before and really like it. It keeps making me think about putting a big white collar on something.

    I know this one was a challenge but everyone has done such a great job with it.

  3. Suzy says:

    I ADORE owls so I love what you did here, Salazar!
    hugs
    Suzy xx

  4. […] read the details of Terri’s own inspired outfit here, Daenel’s here, and Salazar’s here. Have you joined the Style Imitating Art challenges yet? Be sure to check for the next prompt on […]


Leave a comment