Tutti Frutti

I struggled a bit with this week’s SIA inspiration, “Gumball II” by Charles Bell, because it is super colorful and I have nothing nearly as colorful in my closet. However, as luck would have it, I recently thrifted this plaid scarf, and its colors fit the painting perfectly. For the rest of the outfit, I follow the white and brown color scheme of the painting. I also played around with the accessories a bit – I decided to add a cluster of “fruit” brooches, as a nod to the gumball colors and flavors (they do have apple and watermelon flavors, right? We didn’t have them growing up so I had no idea.) Ultimately, despite my initial struggle, I really enjoyed this challenge. What a fun way to close out a year of SIA!

Don’t forget to check Daenel’s blog on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this. And our call for a new SIA co-host is still open, so drop us a line if you’re interested!


6 Comments on “Tutti Frutti”

  1. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    I love your interpretation of the artwork! The scarf is perfect to pull in the gumball colors and your fruit pins are just darling! I finally got my act together to join this week. My post will go live on Wednesday with Daenel’s round up post. This is so fun! Thanks for hosting it!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  2. Salazar, wait until you see what I did-we were thinking the same thoughts about this painting. Needless to say, I love what you did.

  3. Your outfit totally works! Both a nod to the Gumball colors and to the neutral shades in the peanut machine.

    Michelle
    https://mybijoulifeonline.com

  4. Kezzie says:

    Ah, this is brilliant! So stylish and clever. I am afraid my outfit is full on novelty- what I am wearing is exactly what I would wear if I were going to school today (which I’m not- boo!) so you have shown us the stylish end of this inspiration- I am going with the silly and over the top!

  5. […] it’s Charles Bell’s “Gumball II” – just pure […]

  6. […] it’s a thing), and so far I’ve only clustered them according to theme – like all fruits together, or here, all insects (and one reptile) together. I’m going to play around and see […]


Leave a comment