1940s Inspired

Since my rediscovery of thrift/secondhand/vintage shopping earlier this year, I’ve been leaning hard into my vintage-inspired style, especially 1940s style. I’ve always been drawn to 1930s-1950s style anyway, but 1940s style is a lot easier to recreate than 1950s’ (no puffy skirt, no shapewear), and it’s more functional and practical than 1930s’ too. Of course, I don’t want to look costume-y, so I tend to look for clothes that can be translated into modern outfits. One such piece is this short-sleeve sweater. I paired it with my paper-bag pants for something like this or this, and the pattern of the sweater is interesting enough on its own so I kept the rest of the outfit simple.


3 Comments on “1940s Inspired”

  1. mireilleftm says:

    Well done and cool that you are able to find thrifted pieces.
    http://www.chezmireillefashiontravelmom.com

  2. You are very “Katherine Hepburn” today. I agree about the 40’s. It is my favorite time period also and I think one can translate it in a modern way, which you have done perfectly.


Leave a comment