SIA: Arnolfini Portrait

Welcome to another week of SIA! Just to remind you, our inspiration this week is Jan Van Eyck’s Arnolfini Portrait, so let’s get to it!

First up is Mike, who combined black and green in his outfit, and even found a drapey curtain to take photos next to:

Nancy went for more of a blue shade rather than green, but the pleats of her skirt and the details on the shoulder of her sweater mimic the woman’s dress very well:

Our co-host, Kim, went in a slightly different direction – she chose a military jacket with a peplum to echo the gathered waist of the woman’s dress, paired with a teal top to mimic the blue underdress. Very cool!

Our other co-host, Daenel, admits that she rarely wears green, but she did find the perfect draped top, IMO:

Kezzie evokes the painting in her dress and accessories – how adorable is her outfit?

And finally, here’s me:

Big thanks to everybody for participating. Remember to check back next week for a new inspiration courtesy of Daenel. Stay safe and healthy!


11 Comments on “SIA: Arnolfini Portrait”

  1. Mike says:

    Hey, great job everyone! This was such a great painting to be inspired by. One of my favorites!

    If I may, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you all for helping me. As you know, all of our lives have changed so much over the past month due to (I won’t say it).

    Daenel, thank you for encouraging me to keep my blog going and to not delete it.
    Kim, thank you for encouraging me to come back to SIA again.
    Kezzie, thank you for writing that wonderful post on what you are thankful for (such a good reminder!)
    And Salazar, thank you for allowing me to be a part of your blog again and letting me participate in SIA.

    Seeing everyone here in the round up helps me so much. I started off being really anxious when this all started. I’m still working on that, but seeing all of my blog friends helps so much, and my anxiety has calmed.

    I will still remain vigilant in my efforts to protect myself and others, but I am back. I will no longer be fearful.
    We are separated but stand together. Thank you all!

    P.S. If you want to read a somewhat hilarious story, visit my blog! Stay safe everyone!

  2. Yay! I love everyone’s looks–such a great turn out this week! How clever of Mike to stand in front of draperies. And, Kezzie, you rock those boots, my friend! Your dress is so pretty on you, Salazar, very feminine looking.

  3. Kezzie says:

    Hi Salazar,
    I love all the outfits- Mike’s t-shirt fits the bill perfectly and I love everyone’s blues! Such beautiful outfits!

  4. mireilleftm says:

    Hi! I sent you mine on Tuesday but didn’t get a response to my email. Did you not receive it?
    mireille from http://www.chezmireillefashiontravelmom.com

  5. Everyone did such a great job with this week’s interpretation. I’m so happy to see Mike and Kezzie back. Your dress is so pretty.


Leave a comment