Where’s My Vacation?

Last weekend, I took my niece and nephew to see Toy Story 4 and pizzas afterward. It was kind of a reward for the kids and for myself too, because I’ve been too busy to take them on our annual trip, and with less than a month left before the new semester, it looks like I’m not going to have the time after all. I know, I know, it’s totally a #firstworldproblem, not having a vacation. At least it was nice to have one day when I didn’t have to worry about scripts or books or deadlines. And even if I’m not on vacation, I could still dress like I was!

As for the movie – I enjoyed it but found it rather sad. Not even sad in a moving way like Toy Story 3; just sad. Like, the entire Toy Story franchise has always been about how a toy should always be there for their kid, but this… (mild spoiler) it didn’t go against that theme exactly, it just took it in a different direction that I’m not sure I like. Toy Story 3 is the perfect ending already, they should’ve stopped at that. But I guess the calling of the $$$ is too strong to resist, even for Pixar.


3 Comments on “Where’s My Vacation?”

  1. Mike says:

    You are such a good aunt, Salazar. I’m sure that your niece and nephew appreciate what you do for them.
    You sound like me; too busy to take any sort of vacation. I didn’t even schedule my usual vacation week this year because I have too much to do at work.

    But speaking of work, and children’s movies, yesterday, I saw “The Lego Movie, Part 2”, as I was on what I call, “movie monitoring duty for the kids” at my job, and I found some of it to be kind of sad too. Probably in a different way than “Toy Story 4”, but still sad in a way that makes me think twice about discarding my old toys and showing them more respect, even as an adult…

    That’s a great outfit for you! It’s perfect for a hot, summery day. And I love your sunglasses!

  2. I really liked Toy Story 4, but I didn’t grow up watching them so I’m not emotionally attached to the movies, haha! And I do think TS3 was a better ending overall.

    This dress is gorgeous on you!
    Xo
    Kristina
    eyreeffect.com

  3. Mike says:

    I just saw “Toy Story 4” today (movie monitor for the kids while they are on winter break) and remembering reading that you saw it also, I came back to your post and re-read it.
    I agree with you. It was a rather sad concept in that it seems that the toys themselves seemed to question why they are with the kids that own them and would just rather roam free. Little Bo Peep seems to make this concept the most obvious.
    I haven’t seen the second or third installments yet (now I want to), but remembering the first movie, that seemed to be the foundation for what it was all about; a toy always being there for their kid. But like you said, money was probably the main string puller for this latest sequel.


Leave a comment