Le Quai Saint Michel Et Notre Dame

For this week’s SIA, inspired by Maximilien Luce‘s “Le Quai Saint Michel Et Notre Dame”, I struggled a bit because although there are a lot of colors in the painting, there is not one major color that stands out that I could use as the basis for an outfit. In the end, I picked out the two colors that jump out at me the most (or the two that are easiest for me to recreate :P) – blue and yellow – and went from there.

Luckily, I just got this dress made by a tailor (I got frustrated with trying to find a nice shirt dress in store, so I just had it made), and keeping with the blue-and-yellow theme, I paired it with yellow accessories and blue oxfords. I think the delicate stripe pattern can reflect the brush strokes in the painting too… can you see it? Or is it just in my head? Oh well, I like the dress anyway.

Don’t forget to check Kim’s blog on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this painting!


6 Comments on “Le Quai Saint Michel Et Notre Dame”

  1. You were so, so smart to have your dress custom made! I’m frustrated right now trying to find a beach dress that is also suitable for dining out… I like that you chose blue and yellow. I didn’t figure the painting would be so difficult!

  2. I really like your dress, whom ever made it did very well!! It reminds me of a nice carefree summer day. Is it cotton? I really love cotton dresses

  3. Mike says:

    This is a really great look for you, Salazar! My friend on another blog, has a similar dress to yours.

  4. That is such a pretty dress. I’ve never had anything custom made before – how fun. I like the pinstripe as well – so very men’s wear inspired. Nice!


Leave a comment