Europe On Film

This is the last post about my trip, I promise! And it’s more of a photo essay anyway…

As you may know, I’ve been getting into film photography for a while now. For my Euro trip, I decided it would be fun to bring my film camera along, even though everybody told me I was crazy for lugging around two cameras plus films (really, the weight wasn’t  bad. The films are light, and since my film camera only has the 50mm lens on it, it’s not that heavy either.)

I ended up shooting 4 rolls of film during my 5-week trip. Here’s the terrible thing, though: only about a third of the shots came out! One roll was broken, which was my fault, I made a mistake when unwinding it. But for the rest, I think there was something wrong with the film – I bought expired films because they were cheaper, thinking it wouldn’t matter. Stupid me. (I refuse to believe I was that bad of a photographer, because in the same roll, a shot would come out perfectly while the very next one would be foggy/blurry/overexposed.) I’m only glad that I didn’t rely on the film camera, so I still had plenty of good photos from my DLSR.

In the end, here are some of the best shots I got:

The Belfry of Bruges

The main canal in Ghent

An accidental double exposure of the Japanese Tower in Brussels and an Amsterdam canal – I kinda like it


More canals in Amsterdam

Amsterdam

Giethoorn


A street in Amsterdam, and flowers in Amstel Park

A bit of Iceland – the horses, Dyrholaey, and my friend at Kerid crater

This hasn’t put me off film photography while traveling, but next time, I’ll make sure to bring good films!

2 Comments on “Europe On Film”

  1. Mike says:

    You’re far from being a bad photographer Salazar. You always take great photos and I enjoy seeing all of your travel photos each time that you post. You keep a great travel log.

    Sorry to hear about your film roll troubles. I guess even with something like that, it’s best not to go the cheap route if you want good quality film.

    But still, these are great pictures. I especially like the second to the last one with what looks like a shoreline. Love that blue of the water!


Leave a Reply

