Birthday Dress

yellow dress brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

Here’s the vintage dress I bought as a birthday present for myself in Amsterdam. I got it from a shop called Marbles Vintage just off of Waterlooplein – I wandered in hoping to find a brooch, but they don’t have any jewelry, and then this dress caught my eyes. It reminds me of both this dress and this dress in Brooklyn, but what attracted me the most was the price tag – only 20 euros! Upon closer inspection, I discovered it was missing some buttons and the back was splattered with what look like coffee stains (at least I hope it’s coffee!), hence the price, but I didn’t care. I figured I could always dye it if I couldn’t get the stains off. As it turned out, I didn’t need to. After a good soak in Oxy Clean and button replacements, it’s as good as new!

I styled it simply for going out with my co-workers (our department administrator is retiring so we threw her a party), but I can’t wait until fall so that I can layer it with cardigans. Shirtwaist dress is my favorite kind of dresses, and this one is almost perfect in terms of length and fit (if only it had pockets!), so expect to see it a lot on the blog.

yellow dress brown sandals by 14 shades of greyyellow dress brown sandals by 14 shades of grey

yellow dress brown sandals by 14 shades of greyyellow dress button detail by 14 shades of grey

Dress: vintage, Belt: local shop, Sandals: gift

5 Comments on “Birthday Dress”

  1. Mike says:

    It’s so you Salazar! It’s a great look! And considering that you got it for only 20 Euros (about $22 US dollars), I’d say that it was a great deal.

    Gotta love that OxiClean. I use detergent with OxiClean in it and it works great for stains.
    I don’t wear a lot of bright stuff (for one, I somehow always end up getting something on them) but when I do, OxiClean is my cup of tea (not literally of course!).

  2. Fernanda says:

    Love the sandals! Beautiful!

  3. This dress is absolutely lovely on you. I’m so glad the stains came out and I love the new buttons!

  4. Nicole says:

    Thanks for linking up to the Top of the World Style party. What a great dress! It twirls so nicely!

  5. Kezzie says:

    It is such a classic beauty!x


Leave a Reply

