SIA: The Great Wave

I hope my US readers have had a great Labor Day weekend. Here we are, the round-up for last week’s SIA, inspired by Hokusai’s woodblock print “The Great Wave off Kanagawa”. We have a great group with the usual participants but a lot of varieties, so let’s get to it!

First up is long-time reader and SIA participants, Mike, in a monochromatic outfit:

18_salazar_hokusai_mike

Up next is my co-host, Jen, who, aside from her blue dress and headscarf, also managed to find a super-awesome sculpture for the background of her photo, to mimic the curves of the waves:

My other co-host, Erin, picked a printed dress with a touch of blue in it – and you can’t tell from the photo, but she’s wearing blue earrings as well:

Kezzie was so inspired that she submitted two looks – one with a lovely blue cowl-necked dress, and other with a cute printed dress and the perfect background:

Xat‘s casual Friday look is spot-on (terrible pun totally intended), don’t you think?

And finally, here’s me:

white shirt polka dot scarf navy skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

Big thanks to everybody for another wonderful round of SIA. Check back next week for Jen’s inspiration!

6 Comments on “SIA: The Great Wave”

  1. Mike says:

    Great job everyone! As always, everyone did wonderfully in going about interpreting the artwork in the SIA challenges. My interpretation, in my opinion, isn’t the greatest as it’s rather simple. But this is sort of my “welcome back to SIA” after my hiatus over the summer. I really missed participating and so badly wanted to participate many times, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do so. Long story, won’t share.

    But anyway, back to the SIA. I went with jeans because 1) they’re blue, obviously. And 2) though you can’t see, the denim (as is probably the case with most denim fabrics) has traces of white or light blue woven in, which I sort of saw as the ocean spray. So as trite as it might be, it turns out that the simple worked in my favor after all.

    So again, awesome job everyone! It’s great to be back.

  2. Kezzie says:

    I like Mike’s shade of blue and Jen had the same shade- really rich colours! I also love the patterns of the other 3 of you!

  3. rabbitstylenews says:

    I always look forward to the interpretations and this time was delightful, as usual.


Leave a Reply

