Miss Hokusai

white shirt polka dot scarf navy skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

Here’s my outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by Hokusai’s iconic “The Great Wave off Kanagawa“. The skirt and sandals are my first choices, since the soft pleats are a perfect echo of the waves in the print, and the sandals mimic the boats. I thought about pairing my polka dot chambray shirt with it for a different shade of blue, and also to mimic the dotted sprays, but then I opted for this hand-me-down white shirt from my sister and my polka dot scarf instead (and the scarf is not just a pointless accessory either – I’ve been coughing for like two weeks now, and the constant rain doesn’t help, so a scarf keeps my neck nice and warm.)

Don’t forget to check back tomorrow for the round-up!

white shirt polka dot scarf navy skirt by 14 shades of greywhite shirt polka dot scarf navy skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

navy skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of greywhite shirt polka dot scarf by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Zara, Skirt: Banana Republic (thrifted), Scarf: hand-me-down, Sandals: Clarks

P/S: By a fun coincidence, the week we’re featuring Hokusai’s most famous print also saw the release of the trailer for “Miss Hokusai”, an upcoming animated feature about Hokusai’s daughter, who was also a painter:

Looks great, doesn’t it?

3 Comments on “Miss Hokusai”

  1. Mike says:

    A great interpretation Salazar. I’d say that it is a perfect match.

    Sorry to hear that you’ve been sick. So have I actually. For the last 3 days or so, I’ve had a runny nose, sore throat, coughing spells and sneezing. It’s both a blessing and a curse in that it’s the holiday weekend for us here in the US now and I don’t have to go back to work until Wednesday (don’t have to use sick days, yay!). But then, it really sucks being sick while being off from work. Feel better soon!

    P.S. Thanks for sharing this movie trailer. I think I’d like to see this. Do you know if it will it be dubbed into English?

  2. Kezzie says:

    Sorry you’ve been unwell! I hope you are better soon. I’ve picked up a cold but it is being fairly tame so far, thank the Lord! LOVE what you did with this! That scarf is beautiful and YES the sandals echo the boats perfectly!


Leave a Reply

