Weekly Capsule 12.1: Spring Window

floral tunic boyfriend jeans black cut-out heels by 14 shades of grey

I’d put together an entirely different outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by the “Spring” stained glass window designed by John La Farge, using this navy floral dress with my white button-up shirt layered underneath. However, when I put it on, it doesn’t feel very me at all – the old me, about two years ago, wouldn’t think twice about it, but now it seems too fussy, too schoolgirl. So I tried something else, and put that dress away for my niece when she’s older. Really, I’m too grown-up for it now.

floral tunic boyfriend jeans black cut-out heels by 14 shades of greyfloral tunic boyfriend jeans by 14 shades of grey

floral tunic golden snitch necklace by 14 shades of greyboyfriend jeans black cut-out heels by 14 shades of grey

That has been my challenge with SIA lately – with the more intricate inspiration pieces, I always struggle to find an outfit that both mimics the painting and still stays true to my new, more minimalist style. In the end, this is what I came up with – the floral tunic and the shoes are to reflect the stained glass, and there is a bit of blue in it as well, hence the jeans (a truer blue may be more accurate, but I prefer the relaxed fit of the boyfriend jeans with the tunic), and I added the necklace for the wings. The end result may not be as close as I’d like, but it’s something I’m happy to wear, and that’s more important.

Don’t forget to check out Jess’ blog for more interpretations of this gorgeous stained glass window!

week03_jess_lafarge&hensonfloral tunic boyfriend jeans black cut-out heels by 14 shades of grey

Tunic: Handmade, Jeans: Charlotte Russe, Shoes: Tamaris (hand-me-down), Necklace: self-made


3 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 12.1: Spring Window”

  1. Mike says:

    You did great Salazar! Good job! I still can’t help but admire that stained glass art. I’m sure it’s even better looking in person.

  2. Such a fun floral top. Perfect for spring!

  3. ladyinvioletblog says:

    Love the inspiration from artwork! I also love this outfit, very pretty but still comfortable.

    -Karen
    http://www.ladyinviolet.com


Leave a comment