The Oval Office

white dress yellow cardigan red flats by 14 shades of grey

Now this is a familiar outfit – after uploading these photos to my computer I spent a good five minutes staring at them trying to think if I’ve worn something similar before. I know I haven’t, since this dress is new and I’ve only worn it twice, so I guess the outfit looked familiar simply because it’s a combination I’ve worn time and time again. Anyway, it’s for this week’s SIA, inspired by Roy Lichtenstein’s “The Oval Office“. I almost went with the pattern mixing of red stripes and blue polka dots, but in the end I thought that would be too 4th of July, so I picked the white-blue-yellow color scheme instead. I only wish I hadn’t donated my red striped espadrilles, because they would be perfect for this (but then again they’re really, really uncomfortable, which is why I donated them in the first place.)

white dress yellow cardigan by 14 shades of greywhite dress yellow cardigan red flats by 14 shades of grey

white dress yellow cardigan red flats by 14 shades of greywhite dress yellow cardigan blue brooch by 14 shades of grey

Thank Heavens it was still cool enough after the storm for me to wear my cardigan, and it stopped raining long enough for me to take these photos. Seriously, our backyard looked like this:

backyard by 14 shades of grey

Don’t forget to check out Jess’ blog to see other interpretations of this painting!

Dress: Miss Sixty, Cardigan: Target (thrifted), Belt: thrifted, Flats: Caprice, Brooch: vintage


9 Comments on “The Oval Office”

  1. guitargrl325 says:

    love this outfit and your interpretation of the painting is bang on.

  2. Vivienne says:

    Right on! Good job! The crochet detail on your dress with your brooch is perfect!

  3. That dress reminds me a bit of another one you wore that you said was too twee, but then I don’t think it looks exactly the same (it might not be alike at all!) Anyway, I like it! The lace is really pretty.

  4. veamason says:

    Spot on ! Great look! Found you via the Pleated Poppy. Thanks for linking up last week!

    Show off your look, get inspired and link up with me at Whatcha Wearing Wednesday! http://www.themummychronicles.com
    xo, Vicky

  5. Jessica says:

    This is great! Definitely hit it spot on đŸ™‚ I love the shot of you jumping! so creative!
    http://www.thisanalogadventure.com

  6. Renee says:

    You look absolutely AMAZING!!!!

  7. Michele says:

    You look adorable! The color of that cardi looks great on you!

  8. April says:

    Love it! I really love this idea of dressing inspired by art-I may have to try that!


Leave a comment