The Getty Center


Sorry for my weird facial expression. Just look at the pretty museum in the background!

Dress: Anne Klein, thrifted
Espadrilles: Life Stride, thrifted
Hat: Forever21
Bag: Payless

Debbi’s mom is in town so today we all went to the Getty Center, which is sort of a requirement for everybody who visits LA.

Of course Debbi and I have been there tons of times, so we just saw the special exhibitions (Paris – Life and Luxury for me, Gods of Angkor for Debbi, and Luminous Paper: British Watercolors and Drawings for both of us because we’re both Anglophiles :)) The only bummer is that the pond garden is under renovation so we couldn’t go down there. I did manage to get some photos of the upper level though:



A taste of fall

The architecture of the Getty Center is as much of a draw as its arts, but I didn’t bring my wide-angle lens, so enjoy some of these closer shots instead:


It’s been a nice day, but a little too crowded. Debbi bought me this awesome postcard (as part of a belated birthday present) that shows an entirely different view of the building, and in the rain too, which makes me decide I need to go back in the winter, when it rains.

5 Comments on “The Getty Center”

  1. Oy, I still have yet to take my husband to see the Getty. I’m not a museum goer and he loves museums. The pictures look beautiful.

    • Salazar says:

      You don’t have to be a museum goer to enjoy the Getty – you can walk around the garden or picnic on the lawn (gosh, now I sound like a publicist for the Getty :P)

  2. I haven’t been to the Getty in years! 😀 Your pictures look amazing! Makes me wanna go….eventually! =P

  3. Aquí says:

    First, I love your denim dress! Really great piece. Next, my dad used to live in Los Angeles and we would go to the Getty any time we had company in town so I grew a weird hatred for the place because of it. Really amazing architecture though! I’m sure I would appreciate the place more now that I’m a bit older.

  4. […] July, so I picked the white-blue-yellow instead. I only wish I hadn’t donated my red striped espadrilles, because they would be perfect for this (but then again they’re really, really uncomfortable, […]


Leave a Reply

