SIA Inspiration: Captain America

No, not the character himself, but this mixed media painting by Alex Gross:

Awesome, right? Alex Gross has an entire series where he paints pop culture characters on vintage portrait. The results are surreal, demented, and all so super cool that it’s hard to pick just one, but this is one of my favorites. Because let’s face it, what Captain America needs is a mustache. Consider this my celebration of April Fools. I’m still too busy afhjkdfhsjkd-ing (yes that is a verb now, shut up) over Game of Thrones to think of a proper April Fools joke (the premiere is just OK, with none of the jaw-dropping factors of the pilot or even all the baby murders in the season 2 premiere, but I’m still excited about the season as a whole. Plus Gary Lightbody in episode 3!!!)

Anyway, submissions by the evening of Monday, April 8th, s’il vous plaît. The post will be up by Tuesday morning. Have fun!


6 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Captain America”

  1. Val Sparkle says:

    Hmmmm, that’s an interesting one. I assume that’s Satan lurking off to the left. It will be a challenge to come up with something that does justice to this picture, but I’ll think about it!

  2. Woah, trippy! Luckily I have LOTS of red, white & blue in my closet… including new red & white striped canvas flats! 😀 http://librarianforlifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/easter-style-then-and-now/

  3. […] time for another Style Imitating Art challenge! Today’s look was inspired by a mustachioed Captain America. Oh, yes, that’s right. […]

  4. tvonzalez says:

    oooo, I hope you do more of these! I just found your through a Visible Monday participant.

    Thrift Shop Commando


Leave a comment