SIA Inspiration: Juan Gris

It’s my turn to host SIA, and I totally forgot that it’s Halloween next week, otherwise I would’ve picked something more appropriate! But not everybody celebrates Halloween, and even if you do, you may already have your costume planned (I’m not dressing up, but I know I’m wearing my Hellfire T-shirt with my leather jacket as an homage to Eddie) and I don’t want to interfere with that. Anyway, here’s my pick:

This is “The Guitar” (1914) by Juan Gris, a contemporary of Picasso and one of the major names in Cubism. I chose this because I like the contrast between the floral motif and the strong, graphic lines, plus the colors are spot-on for fall. So put together an outfit, send it to me by next Tuesday (November 2nd), and come back on Wednesday for the round-up. Have fun!


One Comment on “SIA Inspiration: Juan Gris”

  1. […] The inspiration artwork was chosen by Salazar. You can read why she picked this work here. […]


Leave a comment