Calyx

For this week’s SIA, inspired by the “Calyx” fabric designed by British artist Lucienne Day, I had to dig around for a bit. I do have prints in my closet, but they’re mostly “classic” ones like stripes, plaid, and floral, nothing that matches the graphic quality of this print. Then I remembered this dress – I mean, short of buying the fabric myself and making a garment out of it, this is the closest I can get, both in terms of the color scheme and the print. The original design has an olive green background, so I paired the dress with my green silk shirt (it was almost identical to the last time I wore this dress, but hey, when a formula works…) My brooch is a nod to the print as well. All in all, I’m quite pleased with how the outfit turned out, even if it took me a while to come up with it. Usually when something takes me a long time, I’ll end up overthinking it and the outfit would be overwrought, but this one is just right.

Don’t forget to check Terri’s blog on Wednesday to see what everybody wears!


3 Comments on “Calyx”

  1. […] sure to check out Terri’s interpretation of the artwork as well as Salazar’s take on it. And please visit Terri on Wednesday, August 24, 2022, to see her review post of outfit […]

  2. Oh my goodness, this dress is perfect for the print, Salazar! I love the green top layered over it and that brooch is really wonderful! I am also really digging your shoes. This outfit is really fabulous!

    Shelbee

  3. The print of you dress is so great for this – nice!


Leave a comment