Wearing All The Colors

For this week’s SIA, inspired by Paul Klee’s “Castle and Sun“, I knew I had to wear this dress. Even though the dominant color is navy rather than red/brown as it is in the painting, the colorful stripes are too perfect to pass up. I styled it simply with a black belt and shoes to highlight the graphic quality of the painting, and added my locket brooch as a nod to the “sun”. My sun-moon-and-star brooch would’ve been a better choice, but it doesn’t stand out enough on the dress, so I went with this instead. I don’t like to go too literal with my interpretation anyway.

If you haven’t sent me your outfit, you still have until tomorrow! And don’t forget to come back on Wednesday to see what everybody wears!


3 Comments on “Wearing All The Colors”

  1. This is a fabulous dress, Salazar! I love the bright colorful stripes and your black accessories really do give it a more graphic effect. I have a striped dress in the same color palette as the painting and I don’t think I even considered it as an option. Coincidentally, I styled the kimono I wore for this art with that same striped dress. That outfit would have worked as well for this prompt. I linked to it in my post. I look forward to seeing all the other submissions!

    Shelbee

  2. Love the stripes. This piece let everyone just do their own color thing. You chose a wonderful piece to work with.

  3. Your dress is such a great choice for this painting – I love it!


Leave a comment