SIA Inspiration: John Singer Sargent 3.0

It’s my turn to host SIA, and here’s my pick:

This striking painting is the portrait of actress Ellen Terry as Lady Macbeth, by John Singer Sargent. I came across it while I was looking up beetlewing embroidery – I was going to pick a piece of beetlewing embroidery as the inspiration for this week, but since I already picked a piece of clothing for my previous SIA challenge (the Schiaparelli jumer), I decided to go with this painting instead, which not only features beetlewing but also has more colors and textures. So don’t forget to send me your outfits by next Tuesday, August 24th, and have fun!


3 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: John Singer Sargent 3.0”

  1. […] let’s start with the current one, presented by Salazar over on 14 Shades of Grey (https://14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com/2021/08/16/sia-inspiration-john-singer-sargent-3-0/). She chose the piece by John Singer Sargent, […]

  2. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    I absolutely love this painting! The colors are my favorite! I just emailed my photo to you!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  3. […] The inspiration artwork was curated by Salazar of 14 Shades of Grey. You can read why she has chosen this specific piece as her inspiration artwork here. […]


Leave a comment