Northern Lights

 

My outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by Frederic Edwin Church’s “Aurora Borealis“, is a bit of a loose interpretation. I thought about wearing one of my pleated velvet skirts to mimic the luminescent light, but ultimately, I decided on this wool skirt instead because the dark background + brighter plaid actually reflected the painting quite well. I paired it with my Fair Isle sweater because it’s similar to a Nordic/Icelandic sweater, and of course, Nordic countries are often where you go to catch the Aurora, so I thought it would be appropriate. Plus, it also has that dark background + bright pattern that is reminiscent of the Aurora. All in all, I’m quite pleased with how the outfit turned out.

Don’t forget to send me your outfit if you haven’t done so (the deadline is Tuesday) and to check back here on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this painting!


5 Comments on “Northern Lights”

  1. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    Salazar, I really like this outfit and I think it is a great interpretation of the painting. Your plaid skirt is so cute with tall boots and the fair aisle sweater was a nice way to incorporate the location for the best viewing of the northern lights. Very clever, my friend!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  2. I really like this whole look and the fact that you managed to tie your Fair Isle sweater into the mix. It looks perfect for the cooler weather that your part of our big blue ball. This was a very enjoyable one to tackle.

  3. Salazar, I think it’s great that you also were inspired by the place where you can usually see the Northern Lights! Such a great idea!
    Hugs
    Suzy xx

  4. […] roundup of submissions. You can also read the details of Salazar’s own inspired outfit here, Daenel’s here, and Terri’s here. Have you joined the Style Imitating Art challenges yet? […]

  5. Maureen says:

    Great interpretation and I enjoyed this look. Also, The fair isle paired with the pleated skirt is such an excellent combo.

    Maureen | http://www.littlemisscasual.com


Leave a comment