SIA Inspiration: Nebra Sky Disk

It’s my turn to host SIA, and here is my pick:

This is the Nebra sky disk, a disk from the Bronze Age (or possibly the Iron Age) found in the town of Nebra, Germany, which features the oldest depiction of the cosmos in the world. I’ve been interested in the celestial motif for a while, and this sky disk, with its blue-green and gold color scheme, can be a great source of inspiration. Remember to send me your outfit by next Tuesday, January 26th. Have fun!


4 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Nebra Sky Disk”

  1. My boyfriend’s mum has a necklace of this!

  2. […] The inspiration artwork was curated by Salazar of 14 Shades of Grey. You can read why Salazar has chosen this specific piece as her inspiration artwork here. […]

  3. […] We have another SIA challenge, this time hosted by Salazar over on 14 Shades of Grey (https://14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com), and this time, she has chosen this awesome piece, a disk showing off a series of celestial bodies, in this case, the moon. You can see an image of it here (https://14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com/2021/01/18/sia-inspiration-nebra-sky-disk/). […]

  4. […] who made the quilt to aid her astronomy lectures. I started the year with a celestial-themed piece and this, by my calculation, is going to be the last SIA challenge I’m hosting this year, so […]


Leave a comment