A Little Teapot

I struggled a bit with this week’s SIA, inspired by this gorgeous Worcester teapot. I may have the individual pieces, but they don’t all go together, and I didn’t want to force them together just for the sake of mimicking the inspiration exactly. In the end, I decided to just go for the general feel of the piece rather than being literal.

By a stroke of luck, I recently found this dress in an online thrift store, and the color and the delicate embroideries on the top kind of remind me of the lighter part of the teapot, and I paired it with this braided belt to mimic the handle and my bird brooch is a nod to both the birds and the gold touches in the design.  All in all, I’m happy with the outfit, even if it’s not as close to the inspiration as I’d like.

Don’t forget to check out Daenel’s blog on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this teapot!


3 Comments on “A Little Teapot”

  1. Mike says:

    I struggled a bit too at first, but after some thought, I came up with a decent interpretation (thinking outside of box!) which you’ll see later when my post goes live.

    I like your outfit, Salazar. The embroidery designs really add to the overall outfit and your bird brooch is a nice addition to top it off. A great interpretation I say!

  2. That pretty dress suits you, Salazar. I couldn’t find the link for the teapot, I’m glad you did.

  3. […] stumbled upon a few local vintage/second-hand shops – it’s where I got this dress, this dress, and the dress I’m wearing here. You can imagine my excitement, and I’ve been happily […]


Leave a comment