Shoe-Mad

This may sound like a total stereotype, but like most women, I have a problem with shoes. As in I have too many shoes. And yet I still can’t seem to resist a new pair. Like this one. When I saw it in the store, I was just like SpongeBob going “I don’t need it, I don’t need it, I definitely don’t need it.” I mean, I really don’t. I have enough oxfords in every color of the rainbow (well, not exactly… oh gods I’m giving myself ideas), and a pair of patent black-and-silver oxfords wouldn’t fill any hole in my closet. But they hit that sweet spot between classic, vintage, and whimsical that is exactly my style, so in the end, just like SpongeBob, I screamed “I NEED IT!!!” (not literally) and bought them.

I justified it by saying that the patent leather would make them easier to wear in the rain, but that’s just an excuse. I bought them because I like them, and I can’t wait to wear them. In the end, isn’t that the best reason to buy something though?


4 Comments on “Shoe-Mad”

  1. Mike says:

    Absolutely! I’m the same way with books. And what’s really bad about it is that I work in a library. So I have all sorts of temptations that tell me to buy more and more, just from what I see. I often try to talk myself out of a purchase, telling myself, “I have enough books that I haven’t even read yet!”. But in the end, my desire to own my own copy of something wins me over.
    And it doesn’t help that my library has a small bookstore inside and I often go in there to buy used books for a good price. šŸ˜‰

    Your shoes are totally awesome!! Oxfords are just so you, Salazar!

  2. Edith says:

    Oxfords are amazing– kudos. However, putting the shoe stereotype on women doesn’t always fit. I just watched the interesting documentary Sneakerhead and clearly many, many men have quite an addiction to shoes as well. I’ve started asking a number of guys around me if they have a sneaker collection and so many of them admit that they do. As long as they give you joy– collect away!

  3. You can never have enough shoes!!šŸ˜šŸ¤Ŗ Love them and they look good on you!

  4. Kezzie says:

    I thought I didn’t have a thing with shoes but I have LOADS of pairs so perhaps I am wrong!!!! These are gorgeous ones! Oxfords are the best!


Leave a comment