Button Up, Button Down

Quiz time: what do you call this shirt? A button-up, button-down, or oxford shirt? I always call it a button-up, and apparently, there is a difference between a button-up and a button-down – a button-down is one with two buttons on the collar, holding it down, and usually those are only featured on men’s shirts. Interestingly enough, in Vietnam this type of shirt is translated literally to “German-collar shirt”. I don’t know why. I believe this turned-down collar is invented by a French tailor, so I have no idea what German has to do with it, but that’s language for you. And this is the point where I’ve typed the word “collar” so many times that it’s lost all meaning.

Anyway, I actually bought these two things together and even tried them on together at the store, but I didn’t think about pairing them until now. I thought the two rows of buttons would be too much, but they actually go quite well together, right?


3 Comments on “Button Up, Button Down”

  1. Mike says:

    Interesting bit of trivia there! Yeah, I never understood the difference between “button-up” and “button-down”. I just sort of used them interchangeably. I actually have a few button-down shirts with the buttons on the collar, which I use when I have to wear a tie.
    But honestly, I often say “button-down” when referring to these types of shirts because that’s how I button my shirts; starting at the top and going down.
    Weird, right?

    A nice, professional look for you, Salazar! Have a great weekend!

  2. How interesting. My son-in-law is a Saville row Taylor I’ll have to impress him with my new knowledge xx

  3. Kezzie says:

    To us English, this is just a blouse or shirt I think, no buttons involved their nomenclature! They go remarkably well together,the buttons continue from the shirt!


Leave a comment