Brooklyn (2015)

I didn’t watch the Oscars this year. Every year I care less and less about the nominations, and this year the only Best Picture nominee I’m interested in is Mad Max: Fury Road. Now add Brooklyn to that list as well. I finally watched it last weekend, and even though I don’t think it stood a chance of winning an Oscar (it’s just not that kind of movie), I still think it’s great.

The story is very simple: Eilis (Saoirse Ronan) is a young woman who immigrates from her small Irish town to Brooklyn in the 1950’s, and has to struggle to build a new life there. Things are finally looking up for her after she meets and falls in love with Tony (Emory Cohen), when a tragedy brings her back to Ireland, and she must decide where her home truly is.

brooklyn00011

brooklyn00002

brooklyn00026

There is not much else to it, really. But I think the movie perfectly captures that sense of loneliness and bewilderment when you are, for the first time in your life, halfway across the world from your home and among strangers, and the slightly guilty feeling when you finally settle down and aren’t sure where your home is anymore. It’s a sweet and charming little film, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

brooklyn00012

brooklyn00030

brooklyn00014

And of course, the costumes are gorgeous. I want Eilis’ entire wardrobe. And the wallpaper in her mom’s living-room too.

brooklyn00001

brooklyn00020

brooklyn00022

brooklyn00006


2 Comments on “Brooklyn (2015)”

  1. Mike says:

    I never have watched the Oscars awards ceremony because I’m not into movies all that much. And most of the movies that I am into, all of the actors are dead. Not that I have anything against recent movies and all; it’s just that most don’t capture my attention all that much. I prefer my books, or documentaries.

    But this movie here sounds right up my alley. It sounds like it has a gentle kind of plot to it and the story is one that I can follow pretty easily. I may have to look for this one. If you recommend it, I’m sure that it’s good!

  2. Paula says:

    I didn’t pay much attention to this movie when it first came out but you made me want to watch it. It sounds like I would relate, plus Nick Hornby wrote it! And I second your thoughts on the Oscars, haven’t watched or cared for it in years.


Leave a comment