SIA: The Milkmaid

mustard cardigan navy skirt red heels by 14 shades of grey

For this week’s SIA, inspired by Vermeer’s “The Milkmaid”, I only had two options: either blue cable-knit sweater + red pants + mustard scarf, or mustard cardigan + navy skirt + red heels. In the end I went with the second choice, because even though this skirt is not the rich shade of royal blue like the milkmaid’s apron, it allowed me to layer my green gingham shirt underneath to mimic the green sleeves of the milkmaid’s bodice. We’re nothing if not exact here at SIA 🙂

Remember to check out Animated Cardigan to see how others interpret this classic painting!

mustard cardigan navy skirt red heels by 14 shades of greymustard cardigan navy skirt by 14 shades of grey

mustard cardigan navy skirt by 14 shades of greymustard cardigan green gingham shirt by 14 shades of grey

mustard cardigan navy skirt blue belt by 14 shades of greynavy skirt red heels by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Gap, Cardigan: Target, Skirt: Banana Republic, Heels: Steve Madden (everything thrifted)


8 Comments on “SIA: The Milkmaid”

  1. Sooooo clever! Absolutely adore how you pulled in the green of the milkmaid’s sleeves. (I pulled in a green glass jar to put in the background of my kitchen shot to add that green.) My favorite detail, though, might be those red patent leather shoes. Or maybe that bright blue belt. Or … guess what I’m saying is, I love everything! 🙂

  2. kezzie says:

    Oh bravo!!! A very clever take on the painting with thr different colours. And effortlrssly ladylike as usual!,x

  3. Sarah says:

    Awesome interpretation! The belt is such a cute touch!

    Sarah
    tracetheshadows.blogspot.com

  4. I love how you interpreted this painting! It really is very exact. Those shoes are darling.

  5. Isabella says:

    A perfect example of SIA inspiring a super-stylish outfit! Beautiful things can happen when you concern yourself with being creative and stylish rather than exact. Lovely color combination and layering!

  6. Jess says:

    You are so sharp. I love it.

  7. Such a pretty look and great interpretation of The Milkmaid painting. I love all of the vintage touches with the collar peeping over the cardigan and the t-trap shoes. Adorable!

    Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com

  8. ADA says:

    Girly, chic and a little retro. I love Navy & Mustard together. Gorgeous Skirt & Shoes. =)


Leave a comment