Under The Sea

orange t-shirt lobster skirt green flats by 14 shades of grey

My initial plan for this week’s SIA, inspired by the illustration in David Wiesner’s book Flotsam, was pretty simple: orange and blue, done. But then I remember that I have the perfect piece for this – my lobster skirt. Before Debbi and I moved home, we decided to make matching skirts (using the tutorial from What Would a Nerd Wear) and got this lobster fabric from JoAnn because it looked fun and Debbi comes from a lobstering town. But we procrastinated so much that Debbi went home, taking her sewing machine with her before we could actually make the skirts, so I asked a friend to finish them for us. We almost wore them while we went to Ha Long Bay last summer, but in the end decided that we needed to be a lot drunker to make matching lobster skirts work 😛

Stop by Animated Cardigan to see all the other interpretations of this illustration!

orange t-shirt lobster skirt by 14 shades of greyorange t-shirt lobster skirt green flats by 14 shades of grey
It was so hot, I had to accessorize with a huge palm-leaf fan

lobster skirt by 14 shades of greyorange t-shirt lobster skirt by 14 shades of grey

orange t-shirt lobster skirt green flats by 14 shades of greyorange t-shirt porcelain brooch by 14 shades of grey

lobster skirt green flats by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Old Navy, Skirt: gift (since I didn’t actually make it)
Brooch: vintage, Flats: borrowed from my sister


5 Comments on “Under The Sea”

  1. Faith says:

    I love that skirt! I alllllmost bought some lobster pants last week. Now I wish I had!

  2. Kezzie says:

    You have a lobster skirt?????????? You are the best!!!!! I have a whole collection of lobster paraphanali (or however you spell it?!) x

  3. Love it! My husband’s family is from Maine, so I’m all about lobster stuff.

  4. juli says:

    Excellent! I love your lobster skirt, such fun. The outfit is great, I hope you wear it ‘normally’, too!

  5. kittenhood says:

    a lobster skirt, what an amazing item! also loving your brooch and the color combo!


Leave a comment