Style Imitating Art: Superheroes

It’s another SIA challenge, this time inspired by Alex Gross’ “Captain America“:

Let’s see what everybody made of this mustachioed Captain America (who, incidentally, looks sort of like Dum Dum Dugan in the movie – without the bowler hat, of course), shall we?

First, we have Jen of Librarian for Life and Style, who submitted not just one, but two outfits, both are beautiful and also marked the first time she wore a skirt for SIA!

 week07-librarianforlifestyle01week07-librarianforlifestyle02

Next it’s Kezzie from KezzieAG. How adorable is her star belt and pink polka dot dress? She even included a red rose to represent Red Skull!

week07-kezzieag

Jo of Joyatri is a new participant of SIA, and I must say she knocked it out of the park!

Jan of Fort Smith Stylista takes this on a whole new different direction – Wonder Woman – which I have no problem with:

week07-fortsmithstylista

Pao of Project Minima is fighting Red Skull with style!

Noelle of Tilly’s Notions is so pretty in her chevron skirt, and those kickass boots are very superhero-appropriate:

Just as Captain America is all about, well, America, Juli of Fragmented Worlds represents national pride – Austrian, in her case – in her outfit:

Teddi of Honeybee Lane is having such fun in her blue striped top and star headband:

week07-honeybeelane

My lovely co-creator Jess of Animated Cardigan looks amazing, as always, in her Americana outfit:

week07-animatedcardigan

And finally, moi. I’m not going to lie, I did pick this painting with this particular dress in mind, because the color is pretty much perfect:

blue striped sweater polka dot dress red flats by 14 shades of grey

Thank you, ladies, for another great round of SIA. I’m glad everybody had fun with this one!


10 Comments on “Style Imitating Art: Superheroes”

  1. juli says:

    Superb outfits everyone! Had so much fun looking through everyones entries. Thank you for letting me be part of it!

  2. Thanks for letting me play, too!
    BTW, the title of my response is “A Blue Blazer Goes with Everything” … I just think it’s funnier with its title!

  3. I knew this was going to be a fun one! Chevrons, and stripes, and polka dots, oh my! 😀

  4. Jess says:

    Ha, I’ve picked artwork with outfits in mind too 🙂 This was great inspiration, Salazar, and everyone did a great job! Love it.

  5. Noelle says:

    So cool, everyone!

    I’ve wondered if you guys sometimes pick art with outfits in mind lol. Perks of being the creator!

  6. Megan says:

    Fun! Love everyone’s interpretation 🙂

  7. teddi says:

    i adore these posts and challenges! 🙂

    • Kezzie says:

      Hey! HOW cool are the outfits on here!!! Everyone definitely had fun with this one! (I always think outfits incorporating red, white and blue (and polka dots!) are always going to be fun adn successful!) I especially love your outfit Salazar- amazing 20’s look and Jess’s top is super!!!x

  8. such a fun idea! Love all the looks here!!
    BTW, dropping in via Pleated Poppy link up!
    Stay in touch!
    Have a wonderful day!
    -Jyoti 
    PS. I am hosting an amazing giveaway on my blog, hope you would participate! 
    Enter $40 giftcard giveaway by Lorraine Tyne

  9. Joyatri says:

    Thank you for hosting this challenge and giving me the opportunity to show my stars. I’ll take any excuse to wear stars 🙂 Everyone’s looks are very creative and I especially like Kezzie’s belt.


Leave a comment