SIA Inspiration: Elsa Schiaparelli

It’s my turn to host SIA, and here’s my pick:

This “cravat jumper” (or sweater), made in 1927, is the first design of legendary fashion designer Elsa Schiaparelli. I know it’s a little unorthodox to choose a sweater as the inspiration in the summer (and especially as the US and Canada are going through a heat wave – sorry!), but I love how modern it is – the trompe-l’oeil effect of the bow and the cuffs really reminds me of those “cartoon bags” that were all the rage a couple of years ago. And even though it’s a sweater, you can find elements in it to translate into an entire outfit, from the graphic quality of the design to the minimalist color scheme. So get inspired and send your outfits to me by next Tuesday, July 13th! Have fun!


3 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Elsa Schiaparelli”

  1. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    Very cool inspiration piece, Salazar! I can’t wait to dive into the history of it! Now to get creating my outfit for this one. Happy Monday!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  2. […] The inspiration artwork was curated by Salazar of 14 Shades of Grey. You can read why she has chosen this specific piece as her inspiration artwork here. […]

  3. […] finally, I’m back to Salazar’s previous SIA hosting (https://14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com/2021/07/05/sia-inspiration-elsa-schiaparelli/), a cravat jumper by fashion designer, Elsa Schiaparelli. I included this one because, well […]


Leave a comment