SIA Inspiration: Frederic Edwin Church

It’s my turn to host SIA, and since we’ve had an unusual piece last time with Terri, I decided to go for something more classical:

This is the painting “Aurora Borealis” by American landscape painter Frederic Edwin Church. I picked it because it reminds me of my own experience seeing the Aurora last year in Russia – this is much closer to what we actually saw (though ours was not as spectacular) than the eye-searingly bright lights you often see in photos nowadays. The muted color palette combined with the luminescence of the Aurora could also be interesting. So put together an outfit, send it to me by next Tuesday (April 20th), and have fun!


2 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Frederic Edwin Church”

  1. shelbeeontheedge1 says:

    Oooh, beautiful choice this week, Salazar! I have always wanted to see the Aurora Borealis! Maybe one day I will get to. Time to get brainstorming!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  2. […] The inspiration artwork was curated by Salazar of 14 Shades of Grey. You can read why she has chosen this specific piece as her inspiration artwork here. […]


Leave a comment