Self Portrait, Yawning

My outfit for this week’s SIA, inspired by Joseph Ducreux‘s “Self-portrait, yawning”, came together very quickly. I just bought these pants – they’re a part of my on-going process to embrace different silhouettes – and the color is perfect for the painting; I knew I had to wear them. The funny thing is, I didn’t realize I didn’t have anything tan in my closet until I tried putting together an outfit for this SIA. Beige, yes. Brown, yes. But tan? Nope. It’s such a basic neutral color that I never thought about it, so I guess it’s good that I have these pants now.

And of course, I had to try to mimic the “yawning” pose. I had no problem yawning, considering these photos were taken early in the morning. Getting the pose right is another matter…

If you haven’t sent me your outfits, you still have until tomorrow! And don’t forget to come back on Wednesday to see other outfits inspired by this painting!


4 Comments on “Self Portrait, Yawning”

  1. Love. Love, love those pants!! Cool outfit…

  2. You did a great job with your interpretation. LOL at your yawn pose.

  3. The yawning pose is funny! Isn’t it funny that you didn’t have tan, it’s so basic. Sometimes, though, it’s waaay too easy to find black or navy.

  4. Kezzie says:

    This brilliant and I love your yawn!!! I have, again, forgotten to do this and it’s a bit late now! Shame!


Leave a comment