Weekly Capsule 50.2: Busy Bee

chambray shirt boyfriend cardigan blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

OK, I wasn’t really busy at the film fest, but it’s called “The Golden Bee”, and I couldn’t pass up the chance use that as the post title, could I? The festival is hosted once every two years by our school for student filmmakers around the country, and this was my first year working it. My job was to tally up the votes for the viewers’ choice award, and mostly I just stayed inside the theater and watched the films along with the audience. Mind you, this is not exactly Sundance, but some of the films are pretty well-made (for virtually no money – they’re students’ films after all), and it’s always interesting to watch the audience’s reactions. The three most popular films with the audience won also the bronze, silver, and gold prizes from the judges, so I’d say the audience’s reactions are pretty accurate. (I’m considering using these as examples in my classes next semester.)

Anyway, I wore a variation of this outfit for each of the two days I had to work at the festival (not counting the opening and the award ceremony.) Since I was just running around behind the scene, I opted for something casual and comfy.

chambray shirt grandpa cardigan blue jeans by 14 shades of greyblue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

chambray shirt grandpa cardigan plaid scarf by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: thrifted, Jeans: Mango, Boots & Cardigan: hand-me-down (the cardigan is an actual grandpa cardigan since it used to be my dad’s), Scarf: Candies


3 Comments on “Weekly Capsule 50.2: Busy Bee”

  1. Mike says:

    That’s awesome Salazar. Counting up votes for the viewers and getting to watch some of the films that the students made sounds like something that I would like. A little off topic here, but I remember back when I was taking classes to finish up my degree, I had a film class (the name escapes me at the moment) where all we did was watch old movies. “The Caine Mutiny” I remember being one of them, which became one of my favorite all time classic films starring Humphrey Bogart. Anyway, all we did was watch these movies and then at the end of the semester, we had a super easy exam to take, which unless a person was totally absent the whole time or was a total idiot, it was an easy ‘A’ to get.

    And I had another class where our final project was to make a short movie and present it to the class, which was fun to do. And after everyone turned their projects in and they were graded, we’d take a class period and watch what everyone did. It was fun to see everyone’s ideas for their films and the type of camera work that they did. Granted, they weren’t block buster, Oscar award winning films, but not too shabby.

    Glad to hear that you had a good time at the film festival. And like you said, it helped give you some ideas for your next class of students.

  2. Meghan @ Hayes Days says:

    Even though you say you weren’t busy, you were probably busier than you would’ve been. The title was far to appropriate to pass up. This is what I wear when I get out of pjs on the weekends. Jeans, booties, cardigan, chambray and out the door. There’s nothing more I ever want to wear.

  3. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. I will have a Xmas linkup party on Thursday. I hope you can make it. Good luck


Leave a comment