SIA Inspiration: Isaac Levitan

So after all the talk of storm, what do we have? Nearly a week of insane heat and mugginess, with just enough rain to make it even muggier without lifting the heat at all. Maybe that’s why I decided to pick Isaac Levitan’s “Calm Summer Evening” for this week’s Style Imitating Art inspiration:

Levitan was actually one of the first classical painters I was introduced to (I think it was one of his paintings as the cover for a Pushkin or Tolstoy collection), so I’m always partial to his quiet, peaceful depictions of the Russian countryside. I know, I know, I’ve been picking a lot of green-and-white paintings lately, but sometimes a nice soothing landscape is all you need. Deadline is next Monday, August 26th. Have fun everybody!


3 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Isaac Levitan”

  1. Vivienne says:

    This is beautiful! It seems simple, but it’s not…

  2. Oh, it’s beautiful. And I support the green and white.

  3. […] I have another style imitating art outfit for you! This one is “Calm Summer Evening” by Isaac […]


Leave a comment