Edward Hopper and The Amazing Spider-Man

That sounds like the title for a short story.

Today Debbi and I went to the movie theater to watch The Amazing Spider-Man. Debbi joked that her sister, who used to live in Cambodia and inspired her on this whole world travel thing, would die if she knows Debbi’s first outing in Vietnam is to a movie theater at a mall. In our defense, it was too hot to go anywhere else. As for the movie, it is indeed amazing. I was skeptical when I first heard that they were rebooting Spider-Man, but as far as reboot goes, it’s pretty much perfect. I bought Andrew Garfield as Spider-Man so much more than Tobey Maguire.


We got lost in an arcade. It was slightly terrifying

Anyway, here’s what I wore, which is also for this week’s Style Imitating Art challenge. The inspiration is Edward Hopper’s Early Sunday Morning:

I don’t own a lot of things in these colors (that are wearable in near 100-degree heat), so I did the best I could to pick out elements that I could work into my outfit – the clean lines, a bit of light blue, a bit of mustard, red, and green. Tune in to Animated Cardigan to see how this painting is interpreted!

T-shirt: H&M, Skirt: thrifted & dyed
Flats: borrowed from my sister, Necklace: self-made

And that’s what Debbi wore – not for the challenge, but a very nice outfit too.


6 Comments on “Edward Hopper and The Amazing Spider-Man”

  1. I haven’t seen the movie, but I really do like your outfit! I love these brights together, and it does reflect the colors of the painting!

  2. Mara says:

    You look so cute! I have never really liked Spider-Man, but that could be because I don’t really like Tobey Maguire that much.

  3. Jess says:

    I have a necklace very similar to that! Except mine is from Anthro and I paid $10 for it.
    I heard really good things about the Spider-Man movie, and while I’m not very interested in Spider-Man I am highly intrigued by both Emma Stone (girl crush!) and Andrew Garfield (guy crush!) so I might need to break down and go see it.

  4. Cortney A. says:

    Love the primary color scheme! 🙂 Blue, red, and yellow work exceptionally well together–and that mustard skirt is to die for. 🙂

  5. Mike says:

    I love Edward Hopper’s work! Great job matching the colors of your outfit with his “Early Sunday Morning” painting. Your stripy blue shirt matches the barbershop pole, the elements of yellow in the painting match your skirt and the red of course matches your shoes. The juxtaposition between your outfit and Hopper’s painting is almost equally matched. Well done! 🙂

  6. […] already did a Hopper painting a while back, but I love this one for the sense of depth and contrast, and for the feeling isolation, which is […]


Leave a comment