SIA Inspiration: Charles-Albert Walhain

It’s my turn to host SIA, and here’s my pick:

This is a portrait of Countess de la Maitrie by French painter Charles-Albert Walhain. To be honest, I wasn’t looking at this for SIA. It’s a visual reference for women’s riding habit for a story I’m writing, but when I came across this, I was immediately inspired by the masculine cut and color of the habit. Easy to interpret? Sure, but I’d like to see what everybody comes up with anyway. Send me your outfits by next Tuesday, February 14th (oops, I completely forgot it’s Valentine’s Day, or I would’ve picked something more Valentine-themed. Ah well. It’s such a commercialized day anyway.)


2 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Charles-Albert Walhain”

  1. […] The inspiration artwork was chosen by Salazar. You can read why she picked this work here. […]

  2. […] her blog. Salazar chose this week’s art work. If you’d like, you can read why she chose it here. You can see a few of my looks here, here, here, and […]


Leave a comment