Adventure In Sketching II

I’ve been trying to sketch every day, and the results are looking… well, I wouldn’t say “better”, but less clumsy than my first attempts.

I’m trying different styles. I can’t draw very well, so first I tried sketching very lightly with a pencil and then going straight in with the colors, but I think that this style is too loose for me. I’m not comfortable enough with watercolors yet, so I keep making mistakes and making a mess of everything.

 

Here are the more controlled, pen-and-wash sketches. I prefer this, though so far I’ve only tried it with simple drawings like houses and barns. The moment I tried to add something spontaneous – like the tree and bushes in the sketch of the houses – it ended up looking like a mistake again.

I’ve also tried a mix of the two, like with this flowering branch (it’s a crepe myrtle, in case my sketching skill isn’t up to par) and this tree. I’m more careful with the branch and the tree trunk, but I can afford to be freer with the flower and the foliage because they don’t require a lot of details.

Still a lot to learn, but so far I’m enjoying it.

2 Comments on “Adventure In Sketching II”

  1. Mike says:

    Making a brief appearance here but I wanted to say that these are great! Great use of color and form. I especially like your lighthouse painting. And I like your shed painting in how you used just a simple wash of color to create the ground and sky. That’s a great way to add a quick background without getting into a lot of detail.

    I’m so happy that you’re sketching every day and practicing. That’s what it’s all about Salazar. I still have a lot to learn too. I look back at some of my old postcards and begin thinking of what I could have done differently to make them better. I don’t always get it right the first time. But I’ve come a long way and you have too. Keep up the excellent work!

  2. These are beautiful! Watercolours are my favourite, good work 🙌🏻


Leave a Reply

